CTaLE Receives Honorary Mention at EEA Education Awards

CTaLE has received an honorary mention in the European Economic Association’s (EEA) Inaugural Education Awards 2022. Taking place at the EEA 2022 Annual Congress in Milan, the ceremony was hosted virtually by the EEA Education Committee.

The EEA Award for Innovation in Teaching, worth 2000 euros, is given to an individual or group, who have demonstrated innovation in their teaching. The awards received strong applications from more than 15 Higher Education Institutions including UCL, University of St.Gallen and KU Leuven. 

CTaLE received praise for its contribution to building a network of economics educators during the Covid-19 pandemic, which is viewed as a time of extreme stress and uncertainty for many. Their EconTEAching seminars, run in partnership with Stefania Parades Fuentes (University of Warwick), and TeachECONference, in collaboration with Doug McKee (Cornell University), created a space for teachers of Economics to share best practice, receive advice, and connect. CTaLE’s bid was supported by Gail Hoyt (University of Kentucky), also is also a member of the AEA Committee on Economic Education, and Jo Blanden (University of Surrey). Pedro Rey Biel (ESADE, and EEA Education Committee Member) commended CTaLE for its “great efforts in innovation on Economics Teaching” and strongly encouraged the Centre to reapply next year.

Congratulations to GAIN

CTaLE is delighted to see the Graduate Applications International Network (GAIN), represented by Dina Pomeranz (University of Zurich), at the awards announcement, win the award for their excellent work in supporting prospective graduate students from across all countries in Africa, in applying for postgraduate and PhD programmes in Economics and other related subject such as political science. Their work aims to strengthen the pipeline for African students who are strongly underrepresented. CTaLE is equally pleased to see Florian Oswald (SciencesPo), who received his PhD from UCL, also receive a special mention for his contribution to innovative teaching.

CTaLE would like to extend our heartfelt congratulations to the winners from all other categories; Isaac Baley (Universitat Pompeu Fabra) for the Teaching Award (Junior); Katharina Hartinger (KU Eichstätt-Ingolstadt) for the EEA Teaching Award (Early Career), and Astrid Kunze (Norwegian School of Economics) for the EEA Teaching Award (Senior).

EEA Education Committee

The EEA Education Committee aims to improve the quality of economics education across all levels in Europe. This year it has distributed a European wide survey to obtain a clearer understanding of economics education across different European Institutions. Most recently it has announced a Seed Grant worth 2000 euros, which will help the development of small-scale projects in the delivery of teaching at undergraduate and postgraduate level.

The ceremony closed with an audience poll on economics teaching, which received notable feedback, with the audience listing ‘teaching economics to non-economists and the general public’ as a priority for the EEA Education Committee.

We are heartened to see economics education and educators getting recognition from the EEA Council and we look forward to seeing the future winners of the EEA Education Awards.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s